Simple tips to care for your Wedding Dress


We have been searching the archives and this was one of my favorite posts.  Brides spend a lot of money on their wedding dress and it is important that you know how to care for your Wedding Dress.

Hello, I am Rosario Intelisano, my specialty, my passion, the core of my ambition is hand restoring and preserving bridal gowns. With many years in the industry, I am excited to share with you my little black book of tips to help you care for your dream gown.

image 1 wedding dress b4 repair

As well as tips, I will include some of my personal experiences from working in this industry and the dresses (plus their stories).

Here are some common questions and tips I am asked:

  1. “What do I do if I stain my dress?”
  2. The second best tip is to avoid direct heat. Heat in general weakens material causing the fabric to yellow and age. This is why dry-cleaning is thought to “torture” the fabric and is avoided when it comes to restoring bridal dresses.
  3. Lastly, I would recommend you take the garment to be professionally cleaned within a month of the stain occurring, the more time that passes, the more difficult it is to remove the stain making it harder to restore the dress to its original state.

I hope this article helps you next time you are in a state of frenzy from an incidental stain. Collect yourself and remember to leave the stain, let it air dry and take it to be professionally removed as soon as possible.

www.xpressservices2u.com.au

Leave a Reply

