How I turned my passion for sewing into a wedding dress designer dream job


Hi! I’m Jane Yang and I’m a wedding designer and dressmaker in vibrant Brisbane!

The passion for creating beautiful gowns and dresses has been in my family for generations – mine, in particular, handed down to me by my mother.

One of my fondest memories of this blossoming devotion to dressmaking was when I began sewing my father’s trousers at the age of 14. I was a young girl, just learning the trade, but I was quick to make clothes for everyone in my family – as well as the entire neighborhood!

Many years later, I found myself working in the fashion industry. I had an eventful career and moved on as a pattern maker in some of Australia’s most prominent fashion houses.

I thought I was on top of my ambition but soon I realized I wanted to be as hands on as I could… to give my clients a chance to wear couture pieces without the couture prices. And so, Bluejade was born. In my joy to clothe uniquely beautiful women of all shapes and sizes, I finally took the courageous next step in my life and created my very own wedding dress boutique.

Bluejade is my playground where I create elegant wedding gowns that integrate classic and contemporary styles for the bold modern woman.

It wasn’t just THE dream job. It was MY dream job.

And I finally did it because I was inspired and looked ahead.

I never would have expected that little 14-year old Jane would give me the life I wanted. And with her, I am forever grateful.

formal-dress by Blue Jade

Blue Jade

Italian-wedding-dress by Blue Jade

Blue Jade

Wedding dress by Blue Jade

Blue Jade

 

BIO:

Jane Yang, owner of Blue Jade and designer and dressmaker in South Brisbane.

She specializes in elegant wedding gowns and dresses of the highest quality materials and created with the most intricate details. She values each unique client’s personal style and aims to customize each gown to flatter the bride best on her special day.

Blue Jade also offers ready-to-wear formal and evening wear, free wedding consultations, made to order wedding dresses, bridesmaid dresses and mother of the bride dresses.

 

Website: http://bluejade.com.au/wedding/

Fb: https://www.facebook.com/bluejade.seamstress

Twitter: https://twitter.com/bluejade_89

Pinterest: https://www.pinterest.com/bluejade89/

 

All photos are courtesy of Carrie Xu Photography

Leave a Reply

